Skip to Main Content

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Urban-Focused Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS)

The New Jersey Urban Mayors Association is pleased to have advanced the economic futures of New Jersey’s urban areas through the receipt of funding from the United States Economic Development Administration to develop and submit an urban focused Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) for the North – Central Region of New Jersey.  Nineteen of our member municipalities spanning seven counties are included in this CEDS: East Orange, Bloomfield, Irvington, Newark, Orange, Bayonne, Hoboken, Jersey City, Perth Amboy, Woodbridge, New Brunswick, Asbury Park, Neptune Township, Lakewood, Passaic, Paterson, Elizabeth, Plainfield, and Roselle. These municipalities are in Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Passaic, and Union counties, click to see map.

Phase I of our CEDS included an economic analysis of the seven county region, as well as individual economic profiles of the municipalities. During Phase II of the CEDS plan development process, the CEDS Steering Committee members developed initiatives to be piloted in participating municipalities. More than 200 members, representing a cross-section of elected officials, local officials, state agencies, and community stakeholders met monthly to evaluate the state of our 19 communities. Our committee identified unique resources and capacities that can be leveraged to develop economic drivers in each of our communities. Through the simultaneous planning and implementation aspect of this CEDS, the CEDS Steering Committee and its partners will be enhancing the economic vitality of our communities, the North – Central region of New Jersey, and the state as a whole. For more information about the CEDS program, please email

Partnering Municipalities

  • Asbury Park
  • Bayonne City
  • Bloomfield
  • East Orange
  • Elizabeth
  • Hoboken
  • Irvington
  • Jersey City
  • Lakewood
  • Neptune
  • New Brunswick
  • Newark
  • Orange
  • Passaic
  • Paterson
  • Perth Amboy
  • Plainfield
  • Roselle
  • Woodbridge