Skip to Main Content

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Thomas Edison President Merodie A. Hancock Inducted in 2018 International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame

Thomas Edison President Merodie A. Hancock Inducted in 2018 International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame

Dr. Merodie A. Hancock, president, Thomas Edison State University, right, receives her plaque from Chair Dian Stoskopf, left, after installation in the International Adult and Continued Education Hall of Fame.

NORMAN, Okla. – Dr. Merodie A. Hancock, president of Thomas Edison State University, joined 12 other exemplary educators who were recently recognized with induction into the International Adult and Continuing Education (IACE) Hall of Fame. The induction for the class of 2018 was held Nov. 10 at the New Orleans Marriott in New Orleans, La.

The IACE Hall of Fame is a nonprofit organization whose purpose is to honor individuals who have made distinguished contributions to the field of adult and continuing education and to serve as a record and inspiration for the next generation of continuing education leaders. This year marks the 23rd anniversary of the Hall of Fame, among previous notable inductees are Malcolm Knowles (1996), Barbara Bush (1997) and John W. Gardner (2003).

Hancock was commended for dedicating her career to serving as a strong and consistent advocate for adult and continuing education policy, funding, practice and assessment. The IACE recognized that she is widely known for delivering innovative education across campuses and international borders. Among her other contributions to the field, Hancock has served on the Department of Defense Taskforce on Developing Best Practice Standards for Distance Learning, playing a key role as this technology expanded to deliver high-quality academic programming to busy professionals, parents, caretakers and other adults with time and place constraints.

Other inductees for the 2018 induction ceremony were:
Belinda P. Biscoe, senior associate vice president for Outreach, at the University of Oklahoma. Shauna Butterwick, a researcher and educator, whose welfare reform research into access to adult education, in partnership with the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives, has been used by advocacy groups pushing for policy change. Phillippe Carré, professor of education sciences at Paris Nanterre University, who conducts and oversees research related to adult and continuing education. Simone C.O. Conceição, an adult and continuing education scholar and practitioner whose work and publications are recognized nationally and internationally. Patricia Davies, an early pioneer of the European University Continuing Education Network, an organization working to promote adult, continuing and lifelong learning in universities. Lilian H. Hill, who has made significant contributions in the areas of STEM, health literacy, medical education and health education as well as adult education.  K. Peter Kuchink, a researcher committed to deepening the understanding of work-related education across disciplinary and national boundaries. Olivier Las Vergnas, known internationally as a key reference in continuing education in self-directed science learning and public understanding of science, particularly in astronomy, as well as in lifelong learning counseling and career guidance. Victor L. Lechtenberg, a leader and fundraiser with a gift for creating regional, national and international policies designed to transform lives through science, education and technology. Lennox L. McLendon, executive director of the National Council of State Directors of Adult Education and executive director of the National Adult Education Professional Development Consortium. Donald E. Moore, Jr, who has shaped the scholarship and practice of continuing education in the health professions and Pamela Tate, an influential, effective and knowledgeable national and international advocate for the adult learner.

Election to the Hall of Fame acknowledges that these men and women have made distinguished contributions to the field of adult and continuing education. Each has provided a crucial nexus between resources and learners. These innovative leaders have believed passionately in the evolutionary power of education. All are themselves exemplary lifelong learners and have left lasting impressions on the students, institutions and organizations they have served. For information on the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame, contact Nina Barbee (405) 325-6362.

Vietthi Nguyen, BSAST

As a military member, I am busy serving our country, protecting our freedom and serving my family…TESU was the number one pick for me because it offers flexibility..."

Watch Vietthi »