Chapter Chartering Ceremony

Upsilon Rho Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing at Thomas Edison State University, received its chapter charter at a ceremony held on April 16, 2008. The chartering officer was Anna Alt-White, PhD, RN, a director of Sigma Theta Tau International, and program director – Evidence Based Practice, Office of Nursing Services, Department of Veteran Affairs, Washington, D.C. At the chartering ceremony, 37 new members were inducted and 17 transfer/multiple chapter members were recognized. Officers installed were Cynthia Mattia, president; Catherine Kotecki, president-elect; Colleen Rossi, vice president; Maureen Clark-Gallagher, secretary; Candace Olsen, treasurer; and Filomela Marshall, faculty counselor. Special guests on the agenda were Mr. William Seaton, provost and vice president, Thomas Edison State University; Connie Sobon-Sensor, Region 14 coordinator, STTI; and Marianne Duffy, NJ Consortium coordinator, STTI.

Photos from the event:

Upsilon Rho Chapter new member inductees who attended the ceremony (from left): Back row: Janice Fitzgerald, Beverly Kaminski, MaryAnn Kaufman, Candace Olsen, Lynnsay Megargle, Janet O’Reilly. Middle Row: Janice Fleming, Betty Gormley, Cynthia Mattia. Front row: Sharon Briggs, Yekeen Odewale, Elizabeth Correnti, Ann Marie Leslie.

Transfer/multiple chapter members who attended the ceremony (from left): Back row: Deborah Guerrierie, Marian Stone, Louise Riley, Jane Bliss-Holtz, Kathleen McMullen, Maureen Clark-Gallagher. Middle row: Susan Cobb, Susan O’Brien, Filomela Marshall, Susan Quinn. Front row: Kathleen Griffis, Jovita Solomon-Duarte, Ritamarie Giosa, Catherine Kotecki.

Presentation of Chapter Charter (from left): Dr. Anna Alt-White presents the chapter charter to the officers Anna Alt-White, Cynthia Mattia, Catherine Kotecki, Maureen Clark-Gallagher, Candace Olsen

Upsilon Rho Officers (from left): Cynthia Mattia, president; Maureen Clark-Gallagher, secretary; Filomela Marshall, faculty counselor; Candace Olsen, treasurer; Catherine Kotecki, president-elect.